What do you want to be the first at?

I have started to pay more attention to what people say and lines (quotes) from movies and influential people. 

It is incredible what can be learned when we start focusing our attention more.

Yesterday I had a great day with my partner, we went shopping, out to the movies, for dinner and finished the night with tenpin bowling.

Although, every part of the day was sensational, my favourite part of the day was the cinema.

We watched Hidden Figures… What a movie, it is a MUST watch. 

Again, I am not spoiling the plot or storyline, just watch it.

One of the characters is in front of a judge for a hearing, as she is applying to attend lessons in an all-white  (and all male) class.

She had done her homework and researched the judge’s details. 

He had been the first to go to university, the first to become a judge, etc., etc. 

So she recited all his achievements, saying: 

You know what it is like to be the first in your family to do accomplish something.

I too want to be the first one in my family to go to university and become an engineer, I want to be the first black (this movie was based on the 60’s during the segregation between whites and blacks).

Wouldn’t you too like to be the first to let a black woman go to an all-white school?

What a bold statement to make:

What would you like to be the first in? Or, what would you like to be the first at?

This movie was about vision and conviction and it got me thinking. 

What do I want to be the first in/at?

I have been the first in my family at some things, to move abroad, to really follow my dreams, to start my own business, to write and publish books, etc. 

Though, I do not want to stagnate and be left behind. What can I be the first in/at next?

What hasn’t been done yet?

Please note it isn’t to appear better or superior but to challenge myself and continue to grow.

What would you like to be the first in?

I would love to hear. 

Till next time,

Jorge πŸ˜ŽπŸ’‹β€

Leave a Reply

