Are you living your own life or someone else’s? 

Are you living your own life or someone else’s? 

Hello there, how are you? Had a good day? Or having a good day so far?

My day is coming to an end and it feels quite unreal to know that I get to do what I love.

What do I mean by what I love?

• I get to see clients who want confidence for the first time in their lives or grow even more confident.

• I have the pleasure to work with people who choose to make a difference in their lives, their families and the planet.

• I have the honour to transfer the skills I have learned over the years to those who want to learn them and boy, is it fun or what?

• I work because I choose to, not because someone makes me or because I have to…

When I noticed this I felt rather emotional to be honest.

I said to myself:

Who would have thought that one day that small child from Panama would get to do something so significant and life-enhancing as well as transformational?

I am the first one to admit it and I say it out loud: how on earth did I end up where I am today?

Really, how did that happen? When did it happen?

I even pinch myself (for real) till it hurts so much that I know it isn’t a dream.

At some point it felt all the odds were against me, my nationality, my sexual preferences, my social background, my age, my location; I never knew of anyone who had done anything “extraordinary” with their lives!

In those days extraordinary was to not be robbed, to have enough money to survive till the end of the month, to go somewhere that wasn’t your grandparents house, you get the idea.

I grew up believing and thinking that that was it.

I was doomed…

So, going back to the now, where I know extraordinary is what we all deserve and we can all achieve when we put our minds to it.

Now, going back to the original question:

Are you living your own life or someone else’s?

Perhaps you are wondering why would I even ask such question?

I dare say a part of you is already arguing that of course you are living your own life, that you have created and built everything you own.

Though, I want to ask you:

Are you really?

This is what I have learned over the years and the real reason as to why I am asking that seemingly “absurd” question.

I learned that the reason I felt I was doomed is because I grew up living my parents reality and modelling their lives.

Their “struggles” had been my reality, in fact, it was all I knew. Their language was my language, their beliefs and values were inherited from them.

The impact from those beliefs and values was so big that even today, I had to remind myself that I get to create and build the life I desire, not the unwanted beliefs and values from the past.

I leaned that if I hadn’t “accidentally” come across personal development my life would be very different today.

I know if I hadn’t met some extremely special mentors that my life wouldn’t be what now is.

At this moment I want to take the opportunity to mention one of these sensational human beings.

I was privileged to learn Latin-American Literature from my teacher Mrs Matute, this woman made me fall in love with my mother tongue, Spanish; I also felt in love with poetry and prose and from that moment I dreamed of one day writing (sci-fi), and letting my imagination soar and impact millions of people.

Mrs Matute, sadly, passed away a few years ago; though, her legacy, what she created for me and those who also had the honour to be taught by her will forever be remembered.

It was through the positive and empowering influences I was exposed to, I learned to dream big.

Some of my teachers,-mentors would say:

Son, do NOT make the same mistakes I have made!!!

Go out there and be better, be more than I have.

Now, I see that that enabled me to create a vision I didn’t have or was exposed to when I was a child and this also allowed me to give myself permission to go after my dreams.

I got to work and let go of living my parents lives and started to create my own life, a life I felt empowered to call MY life and a life that I loved.

Guess what?

When you live a life you love everything else seems to fall into place “as if” by “magic”!!!

I have great family and friends, an amazing partner (I also pinch myself cos he is AMAZING!!!), I do what I love and it feels good, I have let go of my past and healed old wounds.

Life is good (someone would say); though, it has taken a bit of work and tons of belief.

Let me ask you again:

Are you living your own life or someone else’s? Your parents? Grandparents, perhaps? Teachers? Media?

Think about it.

I would love to hear your comments.

Till next time,
Jorge

Leave a Reply

