Is tomorrow guaranteed?

Yesterday I had one of the most surreal and thought provoking experiences ever!

I was walking into town, minding my own business, listening to an audio and wanting to get to my destination ASAP. 

Suddenly, I noticed a homeless guys walking past me, he looked ever so familiar, there was a sense of knowing him, I just couldn’t place him, and then…

It hit me, we used to work together in the very first kitchen, at my very first job over 9 years ago.

Then, his life seemed in the right place, he had a decent job, a wife and a daughter.

He was committed to his job, always there, going above and beyond the call of duty, he was a good colleague and I thought his life and personal situation where in order.

Sadly, I realised it was him when he was long gone and I couldn’t make him in the distance. 

Though, many questions came to my head…

I would have asked:

  • What happened?
  • When did things start to go “wrong”?
  • Did he seek for help?
  • Did he think his life would look like this after almost 10 years?
  • What about his family?
  • How long has he been in the streets?

Having witness how much a person’s life can change in such short period of time made me more committed to want to help people to remain in a healthy and stable frame of mind.

We all need help, though, it takes courage and bravery to ask for help, and the truth is that noone will judge us because what we are really saying is:

I want to be in a better position, I am committed to my life and my family and the world around me, and people applaud that. 

If you aren’t where you want to be right now, act now, before it is too late.

You never know where you’ll be in 5 or 10 years from now. 

Remember, insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. 

Want something better and different? Seek the help you need to accomplish it.

Till next time,

Jorge 

Leave a Reply

