Why do some people play it safe in life?

Now, that is a good question, don’t you think?

Why do some people play it safe in life?

This is a question I used to ask myself quite a lot when I was younger.

I remember many instances where people would say I had so much potential and that I’d go far in life and all the nice stuff that friends, relatives and teachers say to us.

Though, I could not see any of that…

It took me a few years to figure out why I was playing small!

I was fairly “intelligent”.

I had dreams and hopes.

I wanted to fulfil my potential in life. 

I thought I was doing the right thing and following the right path.

Yet, I was nowhere near my goals and I kept getting angry with myself.

Then, I started my personal development journey. I started to read books, to hang out with more upbeat, optimistic and overall enthusiastic people.

So, it was through this reading and growth that I learned what was holding me back and preventing me from achieving my goals.

This is what I discovered 

I discovered that I had no faith and belief in myself, including my abilities and overall outlook in life.

These two things were hiding something more “sinister”, I actually didn’t think I was enough…

I am not enough

The I am not enough syndrome translates into different phrases and words we use, such as:

  • I can’t,
  • I am not sure,
  • This is not for me,
  • This looks too challenging for me,
  • I don’t have the skills,
  • I don’t have the knowledge,
  • I am too old,
  • I am too young,
  • I am not the right person from the job, etc.

You get the overall idea.

When does this become us/our reality?

From a very early age we are learning from people around us.

We are like sponges absorbing every bit of information and making decisions based on what is happening around us.

Something happens, someone makes a comment and we create a story.

The stories we make up/come up with aren’t particularly the most empowering ones.

Someone says no you can’t… we hear that as you aren’t good enough to do that.

So, then we hold onto that story and look for the evidence that we aren’t enough.

How can this be changed?

This kind of belief change work is best carried out with a therapist/coach who can help us recognise our blindspots and empower us in the process. 

The whole idea is to go from believing I am not enough to I AM enough and totally believe it is possible, which is 100% achievable when you are ready to make those changes and fulfil your potential.

We all need help in one area or more of our lives, what makes the difference is going the extra mile and doing the work it takes to make it happen.

Thank you for stopping by and reading.

Till next time,

Jorge 

PS if you’d like to take my 30-mins free consultation, feel free to get in touch and find out how I can help you.

5 thoughts on “Why do some people play it safe in life?

  1. Too many get stuck in this mindset for fear they are going to fail. I know I have read this somewhere…but there is no such things as failure if it is something tried. Failure only comes from the things one doesn’t try.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

