I AM A Dreamer – Dreams Do Come True!

I AM A Dreamer – Dreams Do Come True!

I AM A Dreamer

I am a self-confessed dreamer.

I love closing my eyes and dreaming of magical destinations, a wonderful life, perfect work, great friends, and an incredible future.

Although, you may not know this but that wasn’t always the case with me.

As a child in a Latin country I grew up believing that what I had was everything I deserved and those who had “more” were the “chosen ones”, the “lucky ones” and only they could travel the world and have all the fun.

For years I saw this as my reality, I mean I saw the evidence all around me, poverty, lack; surely my parents and relatives were not wrong!

I remember watching the TV as a child and teenager and believing that only white people with blue eyes and suits and amazing accents were destined to be rich, famous and successful.

I kid you not, I believed this most of my younger years, because that was what the media made me believe and it confirmed what my parents were telling me.

So, 1999 came along and I wanted to do something different, I was poor, I had no friends, I was a very unhappy teenager and to top it all off I saw myself as the ugliest person on the face of the earth.

My life was doomed, I thought it was over the second I came out of my mother womb.

Going back to 1999, I decided to join my neighbours to take my Holy Communion as a means to make friends and reconcile my sinful soul for being gay; and this is not any for or sarcasm I truly felt disgusted at myself because I was poor, I had no friends, I was unhappy, was ugly and I was gay.

Could life could get any worse?

Being poor, friendless, unhappy, ugly and gay was enough, I would say; though, clearly it wasn’t.

I don’t want to bore with the too many details, I am just going to give you the really short version of the story, while going to church I felt in love with a priest who ended up kicking me out of church and telling my mother I was gay, oh and let’s not forget he also publicly humiliated me in front of thousands.

You see what I mean?

So, I was poor, friendless, unhappy, ugly, gay, I was disowned by my family and publicly humiliated…

It gets worse though, I was poor, friendless, unhappy, ugly, gay, I was disowned by my family and publicly humiliated and I felt in a really bad depression.

That wasn’t it, there is more. Can you believe it?

I was poor, friendless, unhappy, ugly, gay, I was disowned by my family and publicly humiliated, I felt in a really bad depression and I tried to commit suicide to top it all off (no pun intended BTW).

Once I got all of that out of the way I woke up to hope, I was fortunate enough that I had great mentors who helped when I needed it the most, the appeared almost as if by magic and my incredible of healing and loving began.

I started to dream once again, I learned that life is whatever you make of it, life is truly your oyster, there are countless opportunities, we just need to recognise them and seize them.

So, the moment I started to dream again everything changed.

It sounds too good to be true, but is true.

From that moment on, I started to see myself like this:

I am abundant, I have all the friends I need, I am happy, I am beautiful, I love my family regardless, I forgive and let go of my past, I love myself and I say I yes to life.

This was all possible because I started to dream again, to dream of a better life, a future and possibilities.

As crazy as it may sound everything changed for the best within months, 9 months (pretty much to the day) I found love; 2 years later (almost to the day) I found myself in a place I always read about and saw on TV shows.

You want to know something crazy, the place where I moved to was full of blond people, with blue eyes and nice clothes and they aren’t all rich, famous or successful.

Funny that, hey?

I hope you have enjoyed today’s blog post and please share it with your networks, comment, like it and why not subscribe to my newsletter too.

Remember, it is OK to dream, it is fun and dreams do come true.

Till next time,

 

Jorge

Leave a Reply

