Keeping The Motivator Motivated

Who keeps the motivator motivated?

Two things spring to mind when I read this question.

The first one is a CD with Jim Rohn’s teachings, where he says he is responsible for keeping himself motivated and on track; his philosophy is that the motivators are/should be self-motivated; which works for some.

The second thing that comes to mind is a book I read, here the author says we are allowed what he calls “Hypo Time” and by that he means we are entitled to have a sulk, through a pity party and stay there for however long we need or have to.

Recently I realised that when I feel demotivated I do a mix of these two approaches.

I take some time out, where I throw a mini “pity party” lasting for a couple of minutes or hours, depending on the “issue”.

At the same time I do my very best to learn from this experience, notice what has happened, what worked, what didn’t work, what can be improved next time and what to avoid altogether.

Then, I pick myself up and bring my energy levels right up, focusing on my happiest memories and successes to get me in a better state.

I have learned to make whatever happens in my life into a learning experience.

What do you do to keep yourself motivated?

Till next time,

Jorge

Leave a Reply

