Speaking Your Mind Up

Speaking Your Mind Up

Staying True To Yourself

download

As I get ready to say goodbye to Las Vegas, sat at the food court at the MGM Grand and thinking to myself what possessed me to put fake tan on (when I am pretty bronzed as I am), I thought today I would write about a subject close to my heart: speaking one mind’s up.

People asked me often enough (almost all the time, noooooo exaggeration), why I am always so energised, rested and happy?

My answer? Simple.

I always speak my mind up and stay true to myself and my values (if this doesn’t happen you see the diva Latino in me out, which is not a pretty sight!), I say what I want to say, when I want to say it and whenever I want to say it, regardless of the consequences.

Whether this leads to an “awkward” situation or an incredibly amazing one, either one I take control and full responsibility for my actions.

It is my life and I am in control of it.

What triggered this blog was a post I saw on Facebook the other day, a quote from one my favourite authors Paulo Coelho, it went like this: Stress, anxiety and depression are caused when we are living to please others.

What a powerful quote, and I will write it again so it sinks deeper:

“Stress, anxiety and depression are caused when we are living to please others.”

download

Though, how many people live to please others?

When we please people, and/or let them take control over us, this then leads to being their prisoners, therefore their “victims”.

So, I ask you the following question: Are you saying what you REALLY want to say?

Or,

Are you just holding back and moderating/filtering your words so you don’t upset others? Upsetting yourself during the process.

Quite frankly and this is me complete and utterly honest, you can NEVER keep anyone happy, no one will ever be 100% satisfied with your words or actions, period!

Do you want to end up stressed, anxious and depressed, just because you are living to please others?

I can speak for myself and the truth is, I do NOT.

A bit harsh I can imagine some people say, but hey ho. This also makes me remember two sayings: 1) we do not come to this life to win a contest, and 2) we are not a golden nugget, so we will not be everyone’s cup of tea.

I was lucky I learned these two phrases in my teenage because I live a life I am happy to call my own, running my own show, not someone else’s.

Are you speaking your mind up?

Are you living the live you want? Or, just people pleasing?

Think about it.

I hope you have enjoyed today’s blog and remember these three words: stress, anxiety and depression.

As ever, please share, comment and suggest.

With all my love.

From my heart to yours,

 

Jorge

 

 

Leave a Reply

