Mindfulness Vs Meditation

Mindfulness Vs Meditation

How present are you in your life?

buddha-562030__180

In the last few years I have noticed how Mindfulness and Meditation have become ever so popular.

Are we being “victims” of our own creation? Food for thought.

Don’t get me wrong, I am over the moon at the fact that society as a whole has evolved so much in the last 100 years, but… Was is it too much, too fast? Just a thought.

Regardless, the most important thing here is that people are needing these two techniques more and more, and even then, they “struggle” at times.

Being present, IMHO, starts at home, setting some boundaries and sticking to them.

On another hand, going back to what I have mentioned before about “knowing” what is right and what isn’t.

We know that using our phones when we are in somebody else’s company shouldn’t be done (I am guilty of that!). how does that make them feel?

We, also, know that watching TV or playing games when our family don’t see much of us isn’t the friendliest of approaches to keep a relationship in good health.

So, here is my view on the subject (please forgive me in advance, if I offend anyone).

My comment is going to be directed towards meditation, I feel that people meditate for the wrong reasons.

I have noticed that a great deal of people do it to escape their busy lives and not to find out more about themselves, spirit or the Universe for that matter.

By escaping their lives, they aren’t able to fully experience what meditation has to offer, which is awesome BTW.

woman-1000769_1920

Mindfulness, however, which can be done anywhere, at any time (don’t get me wrong meditation, too, can be done anywhere – just not the same), you don’t need silence or to retire to a quiet space.

Mindfulness, I see as the art of being present in one’s life, the world and the Universe, where we notice even the smallest of details and embrace life, with an almost childlike curiosity.

What does this feel like? What does it taste like? Let’s explore the journey of this fruit from the land to my intestines.

What does the wind feel like? What does it smell like?

You aren’t avoiding anything; you are fully present.

Just a thought.

I thought I would share my thoughts on the matter.

As ever, comments and feedback welcome.

Much love.

From my heart to yours,

 

Jorge

Leave a Reply

